Another girl, another blog


Regrets? I’ve had a few
December 8, 2008, 10:37 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Thanksgiving was lovely. My pumpkin pie cupcakes were the BIGGEST hit of the night. I initially made a batch by doubling the recipe exactly…which included the doubling of the dark rum.

No. Bad idea. When I pulled open the cupcake, all I got was a giant whiff of dark rum and the taste was overwhelming. Rum is okay, but its not my alcohol of choice, and when I took a bite, I couldn’t help but make a second batch without the rum. The frosting was amazing and I think I could eat that on top of everything I ever eat ever again for the rest of my life.

Since Thanksgiving, things around here have been okay. Nothing exciting to report. We were supposed to have another hospice company come out this past Friday, but they never showed and have been horrible in getting back to us. Hubs’ primary care physician is the medical director  of this hospice company and luckily Hubs has an appointment with him later this week.

My father-in-law had a very mild heart attack this past week (we’re not sure what day–hell, HE’S not sure what day it happened) and has been in the hospital since yesterday morning. Tomorrow he’s having some sort of a procedure done to see if there is blockage around his heart and will be having his heart shocked by a defibrillator to correct the abnormal heartbeat he’s had. My FIL is a very decent, kind man who has finally repaired the damaged relationship he’s had with hubs. He has been a stable father figure (and no, not in the whore George Michaels way, ha!) in our life the last few years. He’s been dealing with so much–hubs, my sister-in-law’s alcoholism and bipolar disorder and his father’s kidney and heart disease. I’m sure he’s going to be fine, and he should be discharged tomorrow evening. 

It’s just so difficult sometimes. If it’s not one thing, it’s another. If it’s not my husband telling me he feels like he’s losing his fight with cancer, it’s my FIL having a heart attack. If its not a person stealing my phone out of my desk at work, its one of my co-workers getting robbed in the company parking lot. 

It’s not all that bleak. I have my psychiatrist appointment on Wednesday morning, and I’m taking the whole day off work. This weekend is the Naples Boat Parade and my BFF is having a party before, which will be great. I’m pretty sure I’m going to take New Year’s Eve off for our annual party (and by annual, this is going to be our 2nd annual). I got my eyebrows done on Saturday and they look fantastic. I just passed my six month mark at work, and I will be getting a raise in the next few days, which is always awesome.

So that’s where I’ve been and what’s been going on since a week and a half ago. I only wish it were more interesting!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

