Another girl, another blog


Did I mention…
November 20, 2008, 11:13 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Things have been relatively mellow around here lately. Hubs had an aspiration on Monday to remove the excess fluid accumulated in his belly. This is the third (fourth? I can’t remember) that he’s had done. We figured out that the bump he’s had on the front of his belly (affectionately called “the noodle”) is actually a small hernia, but the doctors are unsure if they’re going to be able to operate on it and fix it. Which sucks. But at least we know what is going on and now we know what we’re facing in the future.

I’m doing alright. I’ve decided that I’m going to make an appointment with a psychiatrist at Kaiser and will reengaging in therapy. I’m also going to be asking about getting on an antidepressant. A mild one, but one none the less. I’m having trouble waking up in the morning. I went to bed at 10 the other night and knocked right out. At 6:30 the next morning, I could barely open my eyes. Last night I went to bed at 11 and I could barely get out of bed this morning. I’m dragging ass throughout the day, I come home from work and I’m struggling to peel myself off the couch. I love to cook and I don’t have the energy to make dinner. It’s really frustrating, and my physician doesn’t think that the fatigue is physical, he thinks it’s more psychological. I’m tending to agree with him more and more.

Okay, I need something more cheerful to talk about. 

Thanksgiving this year is going to be at my Grandma’s house. She is the only grandparent that I have, or have ever had (my great-grandmother on my mother’s side passed away a few years back, but I never had the chance to meet her), and Thanksgiving is one of my favorite holidays because its one of the few times of year where all of my family would gather together. My dad is one of six kids, and there are 15 grandkids and great-grandkids. My sister and brother-in-law are flying in from Reno for the holiday, and I haven’t seen her since my graduation in May, so I’m stoked they will be down here. 

I’m in charge of dessert and rolls. My mother-in-law makes a really good dinner roll (the “clover” roll she calls it) using the frozen Beadford dough (that frozen dough in the three pack in the yellow bag). For dessert we’re picking up dutch apple and chocolate silk pies from Coco’s on Thanksgiving morning. I was going to buy a pumpkin pie, but I thought I’d venture and make one myself. I’m not a fan of pumpkin pie (it’s a texture thing) yet I love the spices and flavor. Because of that, I’ve decided to make pumpkin pie cupcakes with apple butter frosting.

Yeah. I know. 🙂

I found that recipe for those cupcakes and frosting on this very cool blog, The Cupcake Project. I had to travel all over town to find apple butter (finally found it at the Whole Foods in Long Beach), which I’ve never had, but I love apples and I love butter, so yeah. 🙂 Oh and yes, I realize its not apple BUTTER. 

I got my acrylics taken off yesterday, I just couldn’t handle them anymore. And I’m regretting that decision because now my nails are super brittle and and thin, which sucks. But whatever, it’s been one day. 

That’s all I’ve got for now. Time for Celebrity Rehab. Good night!

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Hi there. I’m a new commenter. Just wanted to let you know that a psychiatrist sounds like a great idea. You’re going through so much, and talking it out (and some drugs) can only help. Hope you have a great Thanksgiving.

Comment by Mary




Leave a Reply

