Another girl, another blog


On the edge of my seat…
November 3, 2008, 11:00 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , ,

I don’t really have much to write about tonight. I’m doing some research on the various California ballot propositions and instead of watching CNN or MSNBC, I’m spacing out to Will Farrell doing his best George W on SNL. 

Its hard to believe that after 2 years of campaigning, tomorrow is the big day. I am at the edge of my flipping seat, waiting for this to be over, waiting for change, hopeful that this time tomorrow will be ushering in a new era in United States politics. 

I don’t care who you vote for (well, actually I do, but I’m not gonna tell you who to vote for…). I just care that you get out there and vote. It’s not a chore, its an inalienable right–nay, a RESPONSIBILITY–as an American citizen to participate in our democracy. If you ever thought, “My vote doesn’t count,” I’d like to remind you that in 2000, George Bush won by a handful of votes in Florida. Your vote *does* count. Your voice *does* need to be heard. But more importantly than that, this is probably the most historic election any of us will ever live through.

Think about where you’ve been in the past 8 years. September 11th, 2001. Economic prosperity. Economic downturn not seen since the Great Depression. Two wars. Record deficits. An attack on your personal rights. A black man and a woman being serious contenders to be candidates for president, with the black man ultimately winning the nomination to become the first serious black person to become President of the United States of America.

The time for change is now. The time for change is here.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

