Another girl, another blog


#41
August 23, 2008, 10:12 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , ,

How appropriate. And yet sad…

Anyways. This has been another crazy week for yours truly. It all started Monday morning at work. I got a voicemail from one of my regular clients that her four-month old daughter had died last weekend. I was in the middle of a session with another client who was telling me that they allow their 7-month old son to watch movies like “Chuckie” and other horror movies because they “hate cartoons!” 😐 Then, about 10 minutes after I stopped crying my clinical supervisor called to tell me that she was “officially” on maternity leave because she had her daughter over the weekend.

I finally got ahold of my client Thursday and she told me the baby had died from SIDS (sudden infant death syndrome). She asked me to attend the funeral, which was yesterday morning. I got the okay from my boss and went to the services yesterday morning. While I was there, my client and her boyfriend asked me to help carry the casket. It was probably one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do, and the change in our clinical relationship became very clear to me. I will likely be her therapist for the foreseeable future, but I may refer her to another therapist because of the crossing of boundaries. But we’ll deal with that at a later time.

Besides the work stuff, I’ve just been puttzing along through the week. My parents are still here, although my mom is going to turn in a credit application to one place and then is looking at another today.

Hubs is finally feeling better. We’ve had kind of a lousy week but after finally having some difficult conversations (topics: death, finances, communication) we’re doing a little bit better. Which is nice.

Food wise, I am still sucking. I have been to the gym twice in two weeks. The scale is creeping back up. But at least I am getting all of my water in everyday, which is good.

Today is going to be a mellow day. I am going with my best friend and my goddaughter to Costco to pick up stuff for her 2nd birthday party and order a cake. The party is in two weeks. I will make sure to get an extra hug or three in with her today. Tonight hubs and I are going to dinner and then going to see the new Rainn Wilson movie “The Rocker.” It looks so funny! We saw “Tropic Thunder” last weekend and it was one of the funniest movies I’ve seen in a long time. If you haven’t seen it yet, you totally should.

Tomorrow we’re most likely going to Ventura to hang with some of my friends. Hubs hasn’t been up to my friends’ house so I’m hoping he feels good enough to go. 

So there’s my weekly update (MINGE!). Hope everybody’s good. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

