Another girl, another blog


Chillin’ like a villain
August 3, 2008, 1:25 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

I’m sorry I’ve been so scarce. Things have been ridiculously busy around the homestead as of late. Between work being super busy and stuff at home, I haven’t had much of a chance to think about updating my blog.

Hubs had his hernia surgery on Tuesday. I had to take him to the hospital in Fountain Valley before 7 am. I went to work that morning because I figured there was no point in me taking time off work to just sit around and not do anything. His surgery went well, and he was in recovery at 11:42. I was on the phone with my mother-in-law, arguing about prescriptions and trying to explain to her that I was going to pick up some prescriptions from the oncologist Wednesday when my office started to shake. At first I thought it was just a large truck going down the street by our office building. Then it got stronger–and kept going. 

The earthquake on Tuesday was the first earthquake I had ever experienced where I was a) not at home and b) not on the ground floor. It freaked me out to the point that as soon as the shaking stopped, I grabbed my purse and ran downstairs to hang out in the parking lot. Luckily it was a rather small earthquake (first reported at 5.8 but it was only a 5.4) and there was no major damage. A few pictures on my desk fell over, and my nerves were hella rattled, but nothing major. 

Hubs was in recovery at the time of the earthquake and he told me that a tiny nurse dove to the floor by him. He asked her if she was going to use him as a human shield and she said, “I’ll do whatever I need to.” 

Hubs has been recovering nicely. The incision looks gross but his pain has been fairly minimal and he’s been able to walk around the house without too much pain. 

Wednesday I took off work to stay home and play nurse-maid. My major job duties of the day included getting Xbox 360 games (for the early birthday gift of a new Xbox 360 that had arrived in the mail on Tuesday) and to get bagels. Tough stuff, I know. 🙂 I also managed to reserve another birthday gift for hubs, Madden ’09. 

The rest of the week was pretty mellow. Yesterday we went to the company picnic for my MIL’s company. She works for a company that does displays in grocery stores, and the company she works for contracts with Ralph’s/Kroegers. One of the awesome things about these get-togethers is that various vendors come and have tons and tons of free stuff to give out. Candy, chips, salsa, cookies, and on and on. We got a bunch of junk food, most of which I will probably take to work to give to clients and co-workers.

After the picnic we went to see “Step Brothers” which was funny at parts, but not nearly as good as my favorite Will Ferrell movie, “Anchorman.” After the movie hubs wasn’t feeling good, so we came home and hung out for the rest of the night. 

Today has been mellow as well. I hit the farmer’s market and Whole Foods this morning, I need to do some laundry and maybe go to the gym sometime this afternoon. I have to do a presentation about mindfulness in our DBT staff meeting tomorrow, so I need to do some reading and preparing for that as well. 

On the food/weight loss front, I’m doing okay. I have lost most of the weight I put back on after my camping trip a few weeks ago and have been chugging water like it’s going out of style. I have been going to the gym almost every single day for the last few weeks and making sure to do cardio, as well as resistance/strength training and core work. This week I am going to take the yoga class (if I can make it to the gym on-time, it starts at 6) and I’m actually looking forward to going to the gym. It’s a strange feeling for me, to look forward to going to workout. 

I’m making a pasta salad for lunch for the week, again. I went to Whole Foods and tried this cumin seed cheese which was PHENOMENAL. So I thought I’d make a Mexican-inspired pasta salad. Right now I have chili spice rub on some chicken breast, I got whole wheat orzo, and some of that delicious cheese. I figured with corn, olives, bell peppers, black beans and fresh parsley, this is going to resemble a chicken chili, but different. I’m looking forward to testing it out and passing the results on to you. 

That’s it for now. I guess we’re about to go and get lunch. I promise more regular updates!!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

