Another girl, another blog


Better
July 1, 2008, 4:39 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

Today, surprisingly, ended up being a better day. When I got here to work this morning it did not appear it would be a good day at all.

There are 3 social workers and one other master’s level therapist here in the department I’m in. The other two social workers were out this morning (one in court, one sick). The other therapist had a client in her office that needed to be hospitalized. None–NONE–of our team psychiatrists were here today. The program director is out. My senior coordinator has been going back and forth between here and the new department she is transferring to tomorrow.

So for the majority of the morning, it was me and A, and all me doing intakes and screenings. I had one volitale client who walked out of my office, slamming the door because I told her that she was going to have to wait until August to see a psychiatrist. It was like I was telling her off. No bother, I knew she wasn’t angry with me, just at the fucked-up system that has become our public health care system.

But for the most part, it’s been an okay day today. After I get out of here (T-minus 25 minutes and counting) I have to go home, change and make it to my support group in downtown Orange. I am not all that into my support group, but I’ve made a commitment, and I am going to stick with it. There are only 9 weeks left (maybe less), so after that I think I am going to be done with support groups and my own personal therapy for awhile.

Food wise it’s been okay today. Except for the stupid vending machine that gave me a regular Dr. Pepper today instead of a diet, I’ve been on track. I might hit the gym tonight after group, depending on how exhausted I am. We’ll see!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

