Another girl, another blog


It is way too early to be this annoyed
June 30, 2008, 9:24 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

I was not in the office on Friday, I was at a company-sponsored training for non-violent crisis intervention. Since I have contact with clients, I need to know how to intervene should something happen, that not only saves me from physical harm, but also from a client getting hurt and/or suing the pants of me or the agency. It was an interesting training and the best part was that I got to leave at 2 when it was over.

This morning I get into my office and have six voicemails–and they are all for me, which is new (they are oftentimes for the former therapist who had this office and extension number). Three of them were from my program director, telling me about an IT training I need to go this morning. Then there were two from a case worker at another agency regarding one of my clients. I have been asked to attend a meeting with this other agency on my client’s behalf tomorrow.

Being the newbie, I went to my program coordinator, an LCSW who is leaving (which really sucks, because she’s been a lifesaver for me these last few weeks as I get acclimated), and asked her what agency protocol is. She told me that I incorrectly filled out a release of authorization letter for this client and a letter I had sent to the outside agency violated privacy and HIPPA policy.

BUT (and sorry if this seems hella-rambling, I need to get it off my chest so I can go through the rest of my day without carrying this with me) I had filled out a NEW release form that is with this client’s NEW chart. What did my program director take to the administration (and WTF? Why couldn’t he go to my coordinator, or to ME?!)–the old chart and the old release form. So yeah. I’m just annoyed that when there was a problem nobody came and talked to me. I’m new here, and could have used a little guidance on this procedure, as opposed to people talking to administrative directors that I have not even met.

And people wonder why there is such a high turnover rate in this department.

On a happier, less bitchy and WAY less rambling note, I saw 162 on the scale this morning. WOO!!!! I feel good and I brought my gym clothes with me so I can go and workout after I get off work. It’s going to be a good week. 🙂

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

