Another girl, another blog


5150
June 12, 2008, 10:19 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

That’s the code in CA state law that allows somebody to be involuntary hospitalized when they are a danger to themselves or somebody else. Basically if you tell a clinician that you’re going to kill yourself or somebody else and have the intent, plan, means and a psychiatrist or other doctor determines that you meet certain requirements, then you are going to be hospitalized on a 72-hour hold to get¬†stabilized, get meds, and get the help that you need.

So this morning at 10, the senior coordinator for the unit I’m on went over the steps to place a client on a 5150. It’s actually pretty easy–I didn’t realize it was as easy, and got the point pretty easily. Then came 2pm.

There was a client in the waiting room who was reporting that they were feeling suicidal. The client had the plans, the means, depression, and feelings of hopelessness. So we followed the steps and had the client placed on the hold. She was actually really cooperative and knew that this was going to be the step that would save her life and help her get the help she really needs. The only problem with this was that I didn’t eat lunch and survived on a granola bar and diet Dr. Pepper until I got my In-n-Out at 7.

I know, I need to eat or else my body is going to hold onto the food I eat and store it. I know this. But when I spent my lunch break signing up for the gym through lunch, and then was busy, busy, busy with other clients all day, I just didn’t have a chance to do it.

But internets, did I mention to you that I lost 2 pounds this week? And that “My Boys” and “Kathy Griffin: My Life on the D-List” are back and I’m SOOOO excited? I’m not SOOOO excited about the stupid GD Lakers blowing a 24 point lead to lose the game tonight. But yeah, weight loss, good TV, good job, and In-n-Out. My day was pretty good.

But too many more of these days of not eating, being super busy, and you may have to 5150 me.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

