Another girl, another blog


Dual diagnosis
June 2, 2008, 10:34 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

One of the things I don’t like talking about is the alcohol addictions my parents suffer from. Both of my parents are alcoholics, their parents were alcoholics and I’m at the end of my rope with the drama and disfunction their addiction brings to their lives.

In March, my parents were served with eviction papers–the reasons are unclear. Three months later they have yet to move–the excuses are endless. My mom’s job was at risk, because the employer she worked for for over 20 years decided to retire and sold his business to a large corporate firm, and they hesitated about keeping her on. In November 2007, my father was arrested with a DUI and blew a .17, more than double the legal limit in California.

I’m watching the A&E show, “Intervention” and its making me regret the fact that my sister’s and I have always come up with reasons for not taking more drastic steps. I’m starting to look into having some sort of intervention done with my parents. I guess because I am the oldest child, the social worker, the responsible one, it’s falling on my shoulders to do this. And it sucks. Looking at prices for in-patient residential treatment gives me as much sticker shock as my tuition bill used to. I know their insurance would cover part of the cost, and we have family who could help out, but its just sad/frustrating/infuriating that we would even need to approach them to get this done.

I know I’m not the only person who has ever felt this way, which actually provides me great comfort, but its still really overwhelming to have to try and take this on.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

